Australasian Workshop on Emergent Quantum Matter 2014

Monday 24 November - Friday 28 November 2014

Moreton Bay Research Station,
The University of Queensland
Dunwich, North Stradbroke Island, Queensland, Australia.

Hosted by the School of Mathematics and Physics, UQ.

Group photos - EQM2014

EQM2014 group photo

Sandboarding group photo
Keynote and invited speakers
Organisational details
Key dates
Abstract submission and preregistration information

Latest news:

Final program (updated Friday 21 November 2014)
Local information (updated Friday 21 November 2014)
Travel information (updated Wednesday 19 November 2014)

Final timetable (updated 21 November 2014)


Mon 24

Tue 25

Wed 26

Thu 27

Fri 28




K2: Galitski

K4: Fraser

K5: Lobb

K7: Zuelicke







ITu1: Dyke

IW1: Hamilton

ITh1: Poletti

IF1: Stace


ITu2: Liu

IW2: Whitlock

ITh2: Jacko

Discussion: What did we achieve?



Lunch, free time

Lunch, free time

Lunch, free time

Lunch, free time



Opening remarks


K1: McKenzie

K3: Brand

Free afternoon / trip to Point Lookout

6:00 Workshop dinner

K6: Gangardt








IM1: Eckel

ITu3: Simula

ITh3: Frydman


IM2: Fuhrer

ITu4: Martin

ITh4: Shah


IM3: Doherty

ITu5: Bowen

ITh5: Powell


Free time

Free time

Free time






Discussion: What will we achieve?

Poster session

More posters


Held as an Australian workshop of ICAM-I2CAM Institute for Complex Adaptive Matter:


The aim of the workshop is to build on initial discussions between the condensed matter and quantum physics community in 2013.  We hope to have a cross-fertilisation of researchers working in the areas of quantum gases, quantum information, and condensed matter physics.

Note that there are a limited number of places available - please make sure you apply before the deadline so that you are considered.


The scope is a range of topics on emergent phenomena, including but not limited to:


 There will be a number of invited speakers, and contributed talks, with plenty of time allocated for discussion.  There will be poster sessions as well.


Keynote speakers (updated 08/10/2014)

  • Victor Galitski (University of Maryland/Joint Quantum Institute, USA)
  • Michael Fraser (RIKEN, Japan)
  • Ulrich Zuelicke (Victoria University of Wellington, NZ)
  • Joachim Brand (Massey University, NZ)
  • Ross McKenzie (The University of Queensland, Australia)
  • Dima Gangardt (University of Birmingham, UK)
  • Chris Lobb (University of Maryland/Joint Quantum Institute, UK)

Invited Speakers (updated 14/11/2014)

  • Steve Eckel (University of Maryland/Joint Quantum Institute, USA)
  • Shannon Whitlock (University of Heidelberg, Germany)
  • Michael Fuhrer (Monash University, Australia)
  • Warwick Bowen (University of Queensland, Australia)
  • Dario Poletti (Singapore University of Technology and Design)
  • Aviad Frydman (Bar Ilan University, Israel)
  • Xia-Ji Liu (Swinburne University of Technology, Australia)
  • Nayana Shah (University of Cinncinati, USA)
  • Paul Dyke (Swinburne University of Technology, Australia)
  • Tapio Simula (Monash University, Australia)
  • Tom Stace (University of Queensland, Australia)
  • Anthony Jacko (University of Queensland, Australia)
  • Andrew Doherty (University of Sydney, Australia)
  • Alex Hamilton (UNSW, Australia)
  • Ben Powell (University of Queensland, Australia)
  • Andy Martin (University of Melbourne, Australia)

Organisational details



Monday 24 November - Friday 28 November 2014

The workshop will begin after lunch on Monday and finish with lunch on Friday.  You should plan to arrive in Brisbane on Monday morning, and depart on Friday evening.  We will endeavour to organise transport for you to and from the airport to the workshop.



Moreton Bay Research Station, Dunwich, North Stradbroke Island.

The University of Queensland


Accommodation: (updated 05/09/2014)

Please note that the research station does not allow non-participants to stay.  If you are accompanied by family members that are not participating in the workshop you will have to make alternative accommodation arrangements.

We have configured the research station to accommodate a total of 50 people.

You will be able to nominate who you share with - every effort will be made to accommodate your preferences.  If this is not to your taste, you may organize external accommodation (at extra cost). 

Plenty of accommodation is available at Point Lookout approximately 20 minutes drive away from the research station.  You might be able to catch a ride to/from Dunwich with other participants, or else there is a regular bus service (25 mins, $4.90 each way):


Accommodation at the station and all catering (breakfast, lunch, dinner, coffee breaks, etc) is included in the registration fee.  This will be paid after you have been accepted to the meeting.

Standard registration: AUD$600
Student registration: AUD$550

Note that there are a limited number of places available - please make sure you apply before the deadline of 18 September 2014 so that you are considered.

Key dates

18 August 2014: Abstract submission and preregistration opens.

18 September 2014: Abstract submission and preregistration closes.

23 September 2014: Announcement of remaining talks and/or acceptance to workshop.

31 October 2014: Registration payment deadline.

24 November 2014: Workshop begins.

Abstract submission and preregistration

Even if you do not want to present a talk or poster, you should submit the preregistration form before the deadline of 18 September 2014 so that you are considered for the workshop.

Abstract submission has now closed.

Please remember that this is a cross-disciplinary workshop.  If you would like to present a talk - please make sure you provide an introduction to your field of research, and discuss its context and some of its big questions.  How can researchers from other fields contribute to your burning questions?  This should be reflected in your abstract submission.  Please do not use talk slots to discuss your latest narrow or technical research results.  However, you are strongly encouraged to ALSO present your latest research in the poster sessions.

Program committee:

Matthew Davis (UQ), Kris Helmerson (Monash), Elena Ostrovskaya (ANU), Ben Powell (UQ), Chris Vale (Swinburne), Andy Martin (Melbourne), Michael Fuhrer (Monash), Alex Hamilton (UNSW)


Local organisers (UQ):

Matthew Davis, Karen Kheruntsyan, Michael Bromley, Ben Powell, Halina Rubinsztein-Dunlop, Tod Wright.


For more information: